Image Two – Draft 2

Juliet text 2.jpg

One peer review raised a particular point about my ‘Juliet selfie’ when I posted draft one of this: who should be the character? I vacillated a lot between choosing an actress from the Luhrmann or the Zeffirelli version – one being modern (and hence in keeping with my theme) and the other being

I settled on choosing what constituted a selfie in the Italian Renaissance (when R+J was set) – a portrait. This is Giovanni Antonio Boltraffio’s ‘Portrait of a Youth Crowned with Flowers’, c.1490. As with the texts themselves, I modernised portions of it to humorous effect – namely, compositing a duckface pout over the subject’s face!

Leave a Reply

